Indian Ocean Times - only positive news on indian ocean

Mauritius: Sir Anerood Jugnauth succeeds Navin Ramgoolam at the head of the country

After rendering his resignation in late Saturday afternoon the President of the Republic in the wake of the crushing defeat of the alliance PTr-MMM *the former Prime Minister Navin Ramgoolam wished "good luck" to his successor Sir Anerood Jugnauth who led the Le Peuple alliance to victory during the anticipated parliamentary elections on 10 December 2014.
At 84 years, Sir Anerood Jugnauth, MSM the Leader of officially took the reins of the country on Sunday as the new prime minister and has sworn.
24 future ministers should be appointed in the coming days, including 16 from the MSM ranks, 4 from the PMSD and 4 for the ML.
* Alliance de l'Unité et de la Modernité constituted of the labour party (PTr) MMM (Mouvement Militant Mauricien). Le Peuple alliance regrouped the Mouvement Socialiste Militant (MSM), PMSD (Parti Mauricien Social Démocrate) and the Mouvement Libérateur (ML)


More from Indian Ocean Times :
< >

Thursday, March 29th 2018 - 19:20 A visit to the paradise island, ile des deux cocos

Friday, September 15th 2017 - 22:46 Mauritius at the UNWTO General Assembly