Indian Ocean Times - only positive news on indian ocean

Madagascar: First round of the presidential election set for October 25

Madagascar: First round of the presidential election set for October 25
After the publication Wednesday by the special electoral Court the final list of 33 official candidates may run, the National Independent Electoral Commission for the Transition (CENIT) yesterday Thursday announced the schedule of the presidential and legislative elections in Madagascar.

The first round of the presidential election will be held on October 25, 2013 and the second round of polling is set to December 20, 2013, with also on the same day the holding of the Malagasy Parliamentary elections.

Four Ministers of the current Transition Government are part of the list of 33 candidates allowed to stand for the presidential election.
HaJo Andrianainarivelo (development and planning of the territory), Pierrot Rajaonarivelo (Foreign Affairs), Tabera Rahman (public service and labour) and Hery rajaonarimampianina (finance and Budget) should resign their posts in the near future.

As a reminder, controversial candidates of the presidential election, the current President of the Transition, Andry Rajoelina, Lalao Ravalomanana, the wife of the former head of State, Marc Ravalomanana, and former president Didier Ratsiraka, have definitely been put out of the race Wednesday by the CES.

Antso Rajaona

More from Indian Ocean Times :
< >

Monday, April 11th 2016 - 07:19 A new Prime Minister for Madagascar

Friday, March 4th 2016 - 05:00 The Antananarivo declaration